Bungay sits within a loop of the River Waveney and has many historic attractions including the ruins of Bigod's Castle (a large Norman castle dating back to 1165), an ancient Buttercross - where a weekly market is held – and the old Borough well.
There are plenty of independent local stores to browse, selling everything from arts and antiques to cutting-edge fashions.
But, above all, Bungay is a place in which to unwind. Time slows to a trickle here – make the most of that in the historic 4.2 acre Falcon Meadow, which lies between Bungay and the village of Ditchingham, across the county boundary in Norfolk. A beautiful water meadow with a public right of way, it’s a lovely spot in which to sit and watch the world go by.
Bungay is a town with a strong literary tradition; modern writers such as Elizabeth Jane Howard and Louis de Bernières have lived here, as well as classic novelist H. Rider Haggard. It’s also home to Clays – established in 1795 it’s one of the largest printworks in the country, and the reason why Harry Potter first saw the light of day in this quiet corner of Suffolk!
The Fisher Theatre, one of the oldest provincials in the UK, provides a setting for numerous films, plays, exhibitions and other gatherings. But Bungay’s now-redundant St Mary’s Church, whose large tower dominates the skyline, is the site of one of East Anglia’s most enduring legends… that of Black Shuck, the devil dog!